The Moore transition team names political leaders and expands the steering committee

Democrat Aruna Miller, who will serve as Maryland’s first immigrant and woman of color, celebrates on election night. Photo by Danielle E Gaines.

The designated Lt. gov. Aruna Miller (D), the leader of the transition team for the designated Gov. Wes Moore (D), announced Thursday that the transition effort will be expanded.

That transition team adds two new members to the Steering Committee and has also identified the individuals who will lead the Transition Policy Committee. The co-chairs will lead nine policy committees with a total of 208 members.

“This team brings deep expertise, an incredible diversity of professional and real-world experiences, and a proven commitment to serving all Marylanders,” Miller said in a statement. “Your work will bring about a strong political agenda that will ensure every Marylander has the opportunity to thrive.”

Miller said Montgomery County councilman Will Jawando (D) and Maryland Business-Clergy Partnership co-chair Joe Gaskins will join the transition team’s steering committee, calling them “critical additions.”

Miller also appointed the co-chairs of the Transition Policy Committee. They are:

Executive Policy Education Committee

  • DR Charlene Mickens Dukes was the first female president of Prince George’s Community College and past president of the Maryland State Board of Education

  • dr Jennifer M Lynch is Director of Education Partnership in the Office of the Baltimore County Executive and a member of the Blueprint Accountability and Implementation Board

  • dr Richard H. Warren, Jr. is the Hazel Professor of Education at the University of Maryland, Eastern Shore, and the 2019 Maryland State Teacher of the Year

Executive Committee on Climate and Environment

  • Ed Hatcher is Founder and Senior Consultant of The Hatcher Group and Associate Editor of the Chesapeake Bay Action Plan Blog

  • Dr Sacoby Wilson is director of the Center for Community Involvement, Environmental Justice, and Health at the University of Maryland’s College Park School of Public Health

  • Kim Kobel is the Executive Director of the Maryland League of Conservation Voters

Transport Policy Executive Committee

  • Debra F Carter is a former assistant secretary of the Maryland Department of Transportation

  • Joe McAndrew is vice president of government affairs and infrastructure for the Greater Washington Partnership

  • John D Porcari is a former United States Assistant Secretary of Transportation and Ports Commissioner for the White House Supply Disruption Task Force and former Maryland Secretary of Transportation

Unlocking Opportunity Executive Policy Committee

  • Joseph T. Jones Jr. is Founder, President and CEO of the Center for Urban Families

  • Rachel London is the Executive Director of the Maryland Developmental Disabilities Council

Public Security Executive Committee

  • Boss Joshua L. Fannon is Battalion Commander of the Baltimore City Fire Department and President of the International Association of Fire Fighters Local 964 – Baltimore Fire Officers

  • Ganesha Martin is a former director of the Baltimore Mayor’s Office of Criminal Justice and is currently Vice President of Public Policy and Community Affairs at Mark43

  • Lt. Steven Thomas is Anne Arundel County Crisis Intervention Team Coordinator and International Critical Incident Stress Foundation Stress Management Team Coordinator

Executive Committee for Employment and Human Resource Development

  • Talib Horne is director of the Baltimore Civic Site at the Annie E. Casey Foundation

  • Gustavo Torres is the Executive Director of CASA of Maryland

  • Christy Wyskyel is Senior Advisor to the President of Johns Hopkins University on Innovation and Entrepreneurship

Housing Executive Policy Committee

  • Miranda Darden Willems is the executive director of the Maryland Affordable Housing Coalition

  • Ruth Ann Norton is President and CEO of the Green and Healthy Homes Initiative

  • William J Roberts is the managing director for democracy policy at the Center for American Progress

Growing Maryland Competitiveness Executive Policy Committee

  • Patrice King Brickman is a board member for Ascend at the Aspen Institute and founder and CEO of Inspire Capital, LLC

  • James H. Degraffenreidt, Jr. is the former Chair of the Maryland State Board of Education and former Chairman and CEO of WGL Holdings, Inc., the parent company of Washington Gas

Healthcare Executive Policy Committee

  • Lisa Brown is executive vice president of the 1199 Service Employees International Union for the Maryland and Washington, DC region

  • dr Joshua M. Sharfstein is a former Secretary of the Maryland Department of Health and Mental Hygiene and Vice Dean for Public Health Practice and Community Engagement at Johns Hopkins University Bloomberg School of Public Health

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *